Globalization is positive for economies but its negative sides should not be ignored. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advances in transportation combined with free trade agreements between many nations worldwide have enabled globalization to happen at an unprecedented speed in this century. Some people claim that this phenomenon is certainly beneficial for the economy but it also accompanies various consequences that require public attention. I totally agree with this claim and will explain why in this essay. Perhaps the most important advantage of increasing world trade is the drop in prices for numerous commodities in the market. Indeed, globalization enables companies to locate their factories in developing countries, where the labour resources are abundant and workers have lower expectations in salary compared to their counterparts in developed countries. This saving obviously paves the way for multinational entrepreneurial organizations to cut down the price of the product, which not only helps boost their competitiveness but also benefits customers around the world. For instance, multiple businesses from the US nowadays can cut down the costs of their goods dramatically and make them affordable to users in developing countries, thanks to the cheap manufacturing expense of their factories located in China. Secondly, a globalized world also plays a pivotal role in accelerating the pace of technological diffusion across nations. This certainly leads to rising domestic production, for not only emerging economies but also advanced ones, therefore promoting social mobility around the world. Turning to possible negative effects, it appears that globalization poses a huge threat to the continuing existence of various cultural values worldwide. In fact, the success of certain cultures throughout the world causes other countries to emulate them, leading to the ignorance of the public of local values and eventually forcing these minor cultures to fall into oblivion. Moreover, the increasing power of multinational companies is also believed to hinder the growth of small and regional industries in emerging economies. Many local businesses may go bankrupt after several years because of the unfair competition against international organizations. For example, many businesses in Vietnam nowadays face the difficulty of hiring new workers because high salaries and better working conditions in global companies like Samsung, LG, Honda, etc seem more attractive to local people. This is a pressing matter for multiple developing countries nowadays since the growth of domestic businesses is of paramount importance for the economic prosperity of a country. Overall, globalization has important merits to the progression of the economy worldwide, but governments should also pay close attention and take practical steps to ameliorate the negative implications caused by this phenomenon.