Museums and art galleries should show local history and culture instead of work from different countries. Discuss both views and give opinion.

Enhancing the attractiveness of museums and art galleries is of paramount importance in our modern society due to their roles in preserving the core values belonging to the past. Regarding this matter, some people claim that these places should focus on displaying artefacts which originate locally, while others argue that it is better to diversify the collection with works coming from various nations. There are strong arguments on both sides of this debate, which I will outline in this essay. On the one hand, people who favour domestic artworks highlight the positive preservation effects for the national culture when more local works are exhibited at the museum. Indeed, prioritizing regional artefacts in showcases may enhance the visitors’ exposure to these objects, therefore helping them to reach a larger proportion of the public. Obviously, being widely known in the community might pave the way for cultural values, especially those which have been handed down between multiple generations, to continue existing or even thriving in modern society. In a world where the dilution of national borders caused by globalization is happening at unprecedented speed, these preservation efforts play a key role in safeguarding the national identity of each country. Moreover, supporters of local works display also add that the appearance of these matters in the museum may help foster a sense of national pride in each individual, especially the young people. For example, many historic institutions in Vietnam nowadays showcase evidence left from the glorious resistance against France and America by the Vietnamese people, in order to remind youngsters about their duty to the country today. On the other hand, some other people believe that diversifying the sources of collection should be preferred because of various benefits that can be brought to both local people and the museum itself. Firstly, enriching the set of artefacts with those gathered from other countries might help enhance the museums’ attractiveness, and in turn, boost the volume of tourists visiting. As a result, the increasing revenue earned from the entrance fee may enable these museums to expand the existing facilities, afford more exorbitant artefacts and provide better services for visitors. This is the experience of the Louvre museum in Paris, where antiques collected from Greek, Rome, Egypt and numerous other nations, have made it one of the most renowned art centres in the world. On the same side of this debate, people argue that the display of foreign artworks in museums provides great opportunities for local people to broaden their horizons regarding the progression of culture worldwide. Overall, I personally believe that an emphasis on showcasing domestic arts seems to be more relevant in the modern world because its pivotal role in preserving the unique identity of a nation tends to outweigh the possible benefits that cultural diversification can bring.