At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Population plays a vital role in the country’s success. Nowadays, residents of few countries have comparatively bigger number of young individuals than the number of older people. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of this trend and also elaborate, why the drawbacks of this situation outweigh the benefits. Increase in population of the younger people is beneficial for the economy of the country. Young adults are more effective and efficient as compared to the older people. For example, the young adults working in a factory can do all the heavy work whereas, the aged people find it difficult to do so. Another advantage of rise in number of the young adults, can help to serve the country in many ways. The young adults can serve in military, police and air force. For instance, the older people can not fight wars. They are used to do light work whereas, the young adults can be handy in all sorts of situations. However, though, these advantages pale in comparison to benefits. Despite the benefits, there are numerous disadvantages associated with decrease in population of aged persons. Firstly, experience comes with age. The older the person, the more experience he has. To illustrate, mostly people working at bigger posts in companies are older people, that’s because of the knowledge and experience they have. Secondly, decrease in number of the older people can directly affect the education of the country. In particular, majority of professors, doctors and teachers are aged so, declined in their numbers has direct effect on education as the expertise would not pass on to the generation. To conclude, this essay argued the benefits and the drawbacks of rise in number of the young adults as compared to the aged people. In my opinion although, there are benefits to rise in the young adults, the drawbacks clearly outweigh them.