In many countries paying things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Nowadays, people are willing to do payments through various applications installed on their smartphones. While this offers many benefits, there are some drawbacks worth considering. In this essay, I shall draw upon a number of recent studies pertinent to online payment that reveal the positive and negative aspects of this phenomenon. There are several merits to e- payment which is a convenient method of transferring money. One considerable benefit is no need for spending time and energy sticking around crowded banks for an ordinary payments. As a result, this leads to a significant decrease in the number of cars which are the major cause of traffic jams and air pollution. In addition, this invention enables elderly people, particularly those who suffer from movement disorders to do online shopping or pay their bills without the need for leaving home. On the other hand, there are two major drawbacks to this phenomenon. Firstly, this method relies on the availability of an internet connection. This means that any interruption in the internet brings about failure in the process of the transaction. Secondly, there is a high risk for certain insecure or even fake payment gateway which are dramatically increasing due to rising of demand. Consequently, this damages public confidence in this high-tech method of payment. In conclusion, it goes without saying that advanced technology always facilitates people’s lives. However, it is essential to apply it to daily affaires with caution. Despite the increasing demand for paying through mobile phones application, I would argue that certain criteria such as the security of gate way should be taken into consideration before payment operation.