It is now possible for scientist in tourists to travel to remote natural environments such as the south pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

With the rise of technology, people are able to explore and observe this world and the universe to a greater extent. Nowadays, scientists and tourists are able to visit remote natural environments such as the south pole. Here, I will discuss two benefits and one drawback of this development and analyse whether the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. A major advantage of being able to visit harsh ecosystems is that scientists are able to learn more about them. As a result of increased knowledge, they are able to generate new scientific theories that increase humanity's understanding of the world. For example, the discovery of giant creatures in the deep sea led to the theory that larger animals have a lower metabolism rate. Furthermore, explorers may discover new fauna and flora which may inspire inventions. For instance, by studying birds, people were inspired to make planes. The more we learn, the more we invent and understand. Another benefit is that tourists are able to gain a broader range of experiences by visiting such environments. Humans are naturally curious beings so we feel excited and satisfied when we make unforgettable memories such as meeting a giant squid. Hence, this may lead to a happier society. The only issue I see is that humans may disturb the nature of these remote areas. When biologists and environmentalists set up camps and their equipment, the surroundings get changed inevitably. If there is any wildlife, they would get disturbed which may cause them to attack or hide. Furthermore, when many visitors come to their environment, these animals may lose their habitat. However, if we explore these environments with caution, we can avoid this problem. To summarise, while the only drawback of visiting remote surroundings can be mitigated, the opportunities offered remain invaluable. Therefore, I believe that the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages.