Some people believe that if the police force carries guns, it will encourage higher levels of violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that if police officers are equipped with firearms, it can promote violence in society. I completely disagree with this point of view for two reasons. To commence with, the primary reason behind carrying a gun is to deter criminal acts. Criminals would think twice before commencing any crime if they know that law enforcers around them are armed. As a result, violence and crime could be significantly reduced in society. For instance, a robber might stop his criminal act if he is afraid of police officials possessing arms could shoot him from a long distance. Contrary to this, failure to equip with weapons might give those offenders an advantage in terms of their ability to commit violent crimes without taking any risk. Apart from that, police officers can protect themselves and people from life-threatening and dangerous situations with the possession of firearms. Certainly, many criminals might have various harmful weapons in hand, which they can use against not only police personnel but also civilians. There is a great risk if law enforcement officers do not have any safety precautions when facing lawbreakers. For example, in many terrorist attacks which happened globally, terrorists killed innocent citizens and police officers. Hence, in order to save lives and protect properties from harm, officers with guns are those who can take necessary actions with the help of firearms. By way of conclusion, although some people oppose police officers carrying guns for fear of increasing violence, I completely disagree. In my view, police officers should carry guns to control and reduce violent crimes as well as to save people and their own life.