Many people think cheap air travel should be encouraged because it gives ordinary people the freedom to travel further. However, others think this leads to environmental problems, so air travel should be more expensive in order to discourage people from having it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the fact that hazardous gases produced by aireplanes give rise to global warming, there has been a heated debate about whether or not airline tickets should be more costly. While some convey that affordable international travels provide non-affluent ones with the opportunity to explore the other side of the world, others maintain that a higher price of tickets can discourage people to travel abroad and save the planet. Given that it is beneficial to one's personal development and it is not the main reason for this imminent global issue, I utterly believe that air tickets should be kept at an affordable and reasonable range. In terms of enhancing travellers' personal development, cheaper flight tickets allow them to explore the world and develop better personality traits. With increasing opportunities to immerse themselves in different cultures, they can learn from foreigners during their visits which foster self-discovery and mutual respect with others. Besides, it is undoubtedly that one's interpersonal skills can be improved when he or she encounters both positive and negative occasions. If air travel is not as easy as it is now, people would have missed a plethora of chances to achieve a better self. Therefore, ticket fares should remain economical. Yet, some have a totally different idea and believe that a more expensive boarding pass is needed. It is understandable because aviation contributes to the production of exhaust gases which add to the burden of global warming. However, it is not the culprit of such a worldwide headaches. Indeed, what should be blamed is the staggering surge of industrialization and undesirable living habits, such as purchasing fashionable clothing unnecessarily and travelling by private jet. Forbidding the underprivileged to explore the world by raising ticket fees while allowing the rich to do whatever they want is just not fair. Consequently, I do not see the urge for a markup in this context. Having discussed the advantage that low-price air tickets bring to one's personal growth and the insignificance between cheap air travel and climate change, I am inclined to the view that airfares should be affordable. In fact, both government officials and entrepreneurs should take up social responsibility and develop an array of environmentally friendly policies and technology in order to tackle climate emergencies.