Nowadays, some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. To what extent you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is argued that public museums and art galleries are unnecessary as people can have access to paintings and artistic items on a computer. I, personally, strongly disagree with this view. To begin with, in-site visits to the museums and art galleries are irreplaceable by browsing the photos online. Firstly, only seeing the pictures of a sculpture cannot enable the audience to fully apprecaite the beauty of the historical objects, as they cannot see the three dimensional effects from the images. For example, people might have better understanding of the Greek culture after watching the masterpiece in the British Museum. Secondly, paying a visits to the museum in person is more vivid than just watching the photos on a computer. The audience can enjoy the atmosphere in the art galleries in person by chatting with people who have similar interests. Besides, museums and art galleries take an important role in education and research. For one thing, regular lectures have been offered to the public by these facilities. For instance, students can attend the art seminars or join in a internship in the museums. Therefore, these activities can tremendously arouse interests in art among teenagers. For another thing, there are many researchers working as employees for the museums and art galleries. Taking advantage of the enriched collections in the institutions, these researchers tend to excel in the field of archeology and art. To illustrate, researchers in Chinese National Museums led the discovery of world famous Terra Cotta in the city of Xi’an. In conclusion, public museums and art galleries should be kept as crucial departments, as they provide better experience for the individuals to understand art and also serve as significant educational and scientific sectors.