In the futre all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advatantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

The automobile industry has been improving with technology over the past few decades. The demand for self-driving vehicles has seen a spike in recent times such that it is now believed that all the cars, buses and trucks in future will go driverless. This essay will explain why the disadvantages of these technical advancements outweigh their advantages. First and foremost, It is impossible to deny the fact that there are a number of advantages of riding in an auto-pilot-equipped vehicle. Driving long distances or time-consuming drives has always been painful. Especially considering the traffic in big cities, it really makes a driver feel exhausted from continuous driving. Thanks to modern technologies which enable riding in a vehicle that does not require any human input. This, without a doubt, makes the journey pleasurable. For instance, a driverless car can take you home comfortably, after a hectic day at work, during the peak hours of traffic by providing maximum ride comfort. Hence, it makes everyone consider buying one such vehicle. On the other hand, they may possibly turn out to be more dangerous than an unconscious driver. These machines rely entirely on technology and connectivity. Any technical glitch or connectivity issue or even a minor mechanical fault like a "sensor failure" might stop the car from functioning properly. As a result, there is a fair chance of unnecessary throttle or brake malfunctioning which can cause crashes or maybe sometimes, a life-threatening encounter. A recent study has confirmed that there is an increment in the number of deaths caused by fatal accidents in which colliding automobiles were driverless. Although, it may sound fascinating to hear that one can reach from one place to another without any driver but it involves a lot of risks. In conclusion, despite having limited advantages like ride comfort on long drives, driverless automobiles have always been dangerous and may result in fatal accidents.