“Do you think extra-curricular activities are important in a student’s life?” Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Extracurricular activities play a prominent role in a student ’s life. Some people believe that these types of activities are unnecessary, as it hampers their regular studies. In my opinion, extra activities should be made mandatory for every student because of their numerous advantages. Firstly, students should engage themselves in various types of sports, such as soccer and cricket because such ventures assist people in gaining physical strength. Moreover, when a student participates in sports, it is possible for him to get along with society having different mindsets as well as to raise immunity. For example, a cousin of mine suffered a lot because of chronic illness. Doctors suggested my uncle and aunt force their child to go to the sports centre in the neighbourhood and surprisingly, my cousin recovered from the illness within a few months. Moreover, people, especially juveniles, suffer from loneliness every now and then, and the gym can be the proper medicine for them as such centres ensure social engagement. Resultantly, individuals should join extra-curricular activities as it is so crucial for the body as well as the soul. Secondly, such activities may improve the creativity of a student, and he or she will have a higher possibility of achieving high grades and superior performance. Furthermore, an athlete or sportsman earns much more than a doctor or an engineer. For instance, the highest income is earned by cricketer Virat Kohli and he is popular among youth in his country and got social recognition from all over the world. That’s why, many parents prefer their children to be an athlete to serve their nation, and also to gain fame. In conclusion, every student should play sports and involve himself or herself in extra-curricular activities because of its plethora of advantages.