Large companies use sport events to promote their products. Some people think this has a negative impact on sports. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Large corporations nowadays use sporting events as a way to popularize their products which has become a hot topic for arguing, with many believing that this trend affects industry negatively. I personally believe that there are several sides to discuss between these two perspectives On the one hand, it may bring some positive sides by booking athletes to promote the sponsor’s products. Firstly, the customers will consume more of the products when they see the benefits of the products on the television, or on some sign boards while going outside. Moreover, if those athletes have fans, then their supporters will buy the products to level up their idol’s careers. Secondly, sportspeople will generate substantial revenue for their lives. They can earn money from advertising as it is their left-handed job, and also they do not need to care about the financial problems and focus on the games. However, there are certain aspects which make people think this action has a negative impact on sports. To begin with, there will be a lack of athletes because most of them will participate in showbiz by advertising or acting in front of the cameras. As a result, they will have less time to practice which leads to the loss of strength, and they cannot be in competition anymore. Last but not least, the way sportspeople promote the products will somehow result in increasing child obesity. For example, when McDonald is a main sponsor for one competition, they can make a menu with stickers of athletes as a gift. Consequently, because of being impressionable, children are more likely to crave junk food when seeing advertisements of their idols. In conclusion, while I believe that using sports events as a promotion platform can be beneficial, the organizers and the sportsmen should be aware of the impact of the products they advertise.