In some countries, the number of shootings increase because many people have guns at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, criminal activities are increasing day by day in almost every sphere of the globe. It is believed by some people that in various nations, the number of shootings has increased because many citizens have guns at home. I partially agree with the above notion. This essay will discuss the reasons for it in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, according to the points given by the supporters these are the reasons to promote violence. Firstly, direct access to bullets and pistols encourages individuals, especially, youngsters to commit a crime if they are suffering from any kind of medical ailment like stress or depression. Subsequently, weapons at houses give encouragement to crimes. To illustrate it, a recent survey shows that 80% of murders are committed by those who are having firearms at their residence. Secondly, some people utilize these items as status symbols and they used them to show off and to have a cool image. Apart from this, there are other factors as well which promote wrongdoings. Primarily, excessive use of these weapons in entertainment industries, such as movies and songs is also the main reason for it. In other words, people try to imitate the stunts shown in these films and series. For instance, In India, an offender admits that he took the idea from a popular TV show CID to kill a person. Furthermore, another major factor responsible for it is peer pressure. Thus, many offenders commit offences in order to maintain their friend circle. To conclude, I would like to reiterate that there are enormous other reasons for increasing the cases of shootings. However, having guns at home is also part of it. Hence, I agree with the statement to a greater extent. Lawmakers should enforce stringent laws in order to maintain peace in the nation.