Nowadays people work too hard. What are the reasons for this? What should employers do to prevent employees from over-working?

Work is a necessity in life. Without a proper job, people wouldn't be able to support the bare necessities to subsist. But in our modern society, humans tend to take their work too seriously and resort to putting their personal life aside in order to advance in their careers. First, some might argue that a life without work is an incomplete one as humans were designed by nature to be active beings in need to stimulate their minds and bodies. To illustrate that, most unemployed people suffer both physically, and as they struggle to make a living resorting to cutting corners and putting their health at risk, as well as mentally since the pressure of not finding a decent job is a permanent reminder of their failure as active members of society. Second, humans are competitive by nature. Therefore we tend to set high goals in our professional lives and spend a consequent amount of time working hard and sacrificing a healthy work - life balance to achieve them in the interest of gaining admiration from our peers or for purely personal satisfaction. Third, the unstable economy that we live in requires high-paid jobs as a means to live a decent and worry-free life. Especially for those of us wanting to build a family and support it. To illustrate that, one average salary can no longer be enough for a household of four as prices are skyrocketing in all fields of life such as food, real estate, schooling, gas etc. Finally, social media played an important role in portraying a lavish and luxurious lifestyle as the ultimate goal any person can obtain. Ultimately the average worker is no longer satisfied with a modest way of living and is ready to sacrifice everything possible in order to achieve that goal. To summarize, folks tend to overwork themselves to exhaustion for diverse reasons. As employers, their responsibility towards their employees should be to establish precise work hours with little to no overtime, as well as encourage them to take regular vacations as a means to spend quality time doing enjoyable activities and hobbies, socializing or just resting at home. Lastly,employers should institute mandatory checkups with health professionals to ensure that their workers are healthy and in a positive and safe state of mind towards their jobs.