Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best ways to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent times, crime rates are shooting up day by day. Even though, some individuals consider longer prison sentences to be the most effective way to bring down the crime rates, others argue to imply alternative methods. In my opinion, other punishments like community service should be given more importance. This essay will elaborate on both the sides. There are several benefits that longer prison stays offer. To begin with, it provides the criminals enough time to introspect their own actions. For instance, they can reflect on the crimes they did and then learn from it. Furthermore, long-stays in prison are strict and rigid punishments. The offenders will loose the crucial years of their life and the disciplined atmosphere will develop some fear among the criminals, discouraging them from repeating their mistakes. Hence, these punishments serve long-term advantages. On the other hand, increased prison timecould be the reason for depression or suicide. It can be daunting for the criminals and can do more damage than good. Therefore, substituting these punishments with community service could be the solution. While participating in activities such as gardening or making toys for under- priviledged children can generate a sense of happiness and satisfaction. Fortunately, this would further help the prisoners to feel connected with the outside world and can bring a posotive shift in their behaviour. In addition, if the gouvernment can organise short- term study plans for them, they will spend their prison-time in a fruitful way. Therefore, alternative ways would aid in making them a responsible citizen of the society. In conclusion, long term punishments would be a hard and strict way for moral-policing the criminals. Instead, the alternative methods will ensure a positive shift in the law-offenders and will prepare them to face the world again.