Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that men and women should have the same educational opportunities. However, I do not agree with the idea of accepting equal proportions of each gender in every university subject because other measures are equally important. The arguments will be elucidated in the following essay. To begin with, having the same number of men and women in all degree courses is simply unrealistic conceptualize because the student numbers in any course depend on the applications that the institution receives. In other words, if a university decided to fill courses with equal numbers of males and females, it would need enough applicants of each sex. In reality, many courses are more popular with one gender than the other, and it would not be practical to aim for equal proportions. For example, nursing courses tend to be attracted more female applicants, and it would be difficult to fill these courses if fifty percent of the places needed went to males. In addition, it would be unfair to base admission to university courses on gender because they should continue to select the best candidates for each course according to their qualifications. To illustrate, applicants know that they will be successful if they work hard to achieve good grades. For instance, when a female student who has good grades and wishes to enroll in a specific subject, is not able because the female quota is full, it would be unfair and unjust, as she would deprive of her right to study the subject of her choice despite having sufficient grades. In conclusion, the selection of university students should be based on merit, and it would be both impractical and unfair to change to a selection procedure based on gender.