Many people say that we now live in 'consumer societies' where money and possessions are given too much importance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been said that after decades of society's development, consumerism has become the theme of the current community and that individuals are prone to attach great significance to their finance and belongings. Although it is not entirely true, I basically agree with such a statement. For sure there is an opinion that people living in this world still treasure the most sincere things like high moral standards. For example, being honest, punctual, responsible, and kind, has always been a common discipline. Most individuals tend to follow relative rules and wish it to be harmonious among people. However, as the community develops, it can be identified that residents' pressure increases over time. Under such circumstances, they can do nothing but take care of their own feeling and basic rights, not to mention when others are being insanely selfish, one's possession will be the most secure for them. Talking about the pressure on the community's lives, there are several aspects that can prove this to be true. Take workers for an example, especially those who live in the front-tier metropolis in our country. Most of them are younger, or middle-aged. The main purpose for them is to achieve a higher salary and social standing, in order to earn a promising future, for themselves, and maybe for their family and offspring. Yet the involution in industries becomes even fiercer, the demand for them goes up day by day, gamers are easy to lose their jobs because of one tiny little mistake or overlooking of any aspects that other competitors have achieved way before them. Or, to avoid being like this, they have to work overtime to keep up the pace, just to find their physical and mental health suffering seriously. All in all, the most reliable in inhabitants' minds nowadays is what they have in hand, which is tangible, and to their benefit. As pessimistic as it sounds, it is true. To conclude, residents in this society are more likely to believe in money and things at their disposal. Possibly, the government can give the public appropriate guidance to alter their mind, but they should put their's entitlement in the first place.