The recent back-and-forth debate and policy reversal over the use of face masks to prevent the spread of Covid-19. What is your opinion? are you for or against wearing face mask? Why?

The use of masks to prevent the spread of covid 19 has been a highly debated topic in the recent times. Many governments across the globe have lifted the restrictions that were once stringent at the peak of the pandemic. In my view, people must still continue to wear masks and take necessary precautions even if the cases have significantly reduced. The following essay provides evidence to prove my point. The research on the coronavirus is still ongoing and we still find people suffering from the infectious disease. Our experts in the field of medicine are still to discover effective ways to identify the infection at the early stage when the effect of the virus is substantially low. In all this, assuming that we are safe is just declaring the victory too early. Almost every alternative month there is a new variant that takes over an entire city by surprise disrupting the social order. Hence, it is not safe to go in public without precautions and the government should come forward to emphasise the usage of protective measures. Moreover, covering one's face has already proven to be the most efficient way to prevent any virus to become fatal. Recent surveys have shown that the face mask contributes to as much as 75 per cent to the prevention of the deadly virus. If the general public is careless with the proper sanitisation and covid 19 protocols, it might be the precursor for another wave. In conclusion, the use of masks for the prevention of the novel coronavirus is of the highest importance and every country across the globe must come forward to make new policies to ensure public safety.