The news media have become more influential in people’s lives, some people think it’s a negative development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's contemporary era, the popularity of news media has surged dramatically. Many individuals these days get influenced by the news telecasted on televisions, radios, newspapers, etc. In my opinion, it has both negative and positive impacts on people's lives. To begin with, news media today helps society members in getting the latest information. As a result, they will be informed about the recent updates about any popular events or news, which further leads to a good debate among members of society. Moreover, mass media does not only provide local news but international as well. Consequently, the general public gets to know about important global events. For instance, with the help of social media and news channels, the population around the world was able to learn about the reasons for the war between Russia and Ukraine. There are, however, some negative influences of news media as well. The primary one is providing unreliable and biased information. News channels or journalists for the sake of gaining popularity will provide the community with self-made stories on some widespread topics. When such a message reaches the audience, they start making bad perceptions about the people involved in the news; thus damaging their reputation in the eyes of the community members. For example, Bollywood star Sanjay Dutt was immensely hated by the Indian public because of frequently published false news about his acts. In conclusion, although news media helps in spreading awareness globally, it also has a negative impact on members of society because of unreliable and exaggerated information. Nevertheless, individuals should be responsible enough and not follow the news blindly.