Some people think that it is a waste of money for countries to host big sporting events like the world cup, and that the money would be better spent on other things. However, others think that hosting large sporting events has a clear, positive impact on a coutry. Discuss both views

There is ongoing debate in the sports field that money spent on large-scale events such as the Olympics or World Cups is wasted and pollution-causing but others think that not only about the reputation of that event associated with individual nations but also about bringing international cooperation to local sports companies. This writer believes that encouraging these prominent events can enhance the political and economic relationships between nations and help local citizens gain financial profit. It is obvious that setting up large competitions or events demands a huge amount of money from local residents. In this case, other activities to enhance facilities or citizen services will be procrastinated leading to backward and requiring a long period to develop. It can not be denied that there is an increase in pollution from every large event especially sports where millions of people throw personal trash away after the event has ended. As a result, more and more polluted places appear because of the irresponsible actions of spectators. Conversely, athlete success in big host events can gain a reputation for an individual nation which is the most important element of a developing country. In detail, this definitely appeals to foreign visitors and this helps local residents in finding jobs and making money. Along with this benefit is improved life quality for citizens in local areas such as places located near the sea where associated with a lot of well-known swimmers and sooner or later, individual nations will steadily develop. In my opinion, high-impact events of sports can benefit from international cooperation which builds a strong political and economic relationship in the future. In this case, athletes will have more resources to practice and hone their skills in an effective way. For example, Nguyen Thi Anh Vien a famous swimmer who has received many rewards from the international events that helped Vietnam catch up with other countries in particular sports. In conclusion, this writer is swayed by the long-term benefits of international relationships and making a profit by reputation rather than some drawbacks of high investment costs and pollution.