Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this affect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

Yearly, a lot of small and local businesses will close in different neighbourhoods because they can not compete against international and big companies. In this essay, you will see two types of problems which this behaviour causes to the small shops and some solutions for them. To begin with, local people of area wants sometimes to use their own local and city product which they can find them in small stores by their own people but, when branch supermarkets will come, they can not sell whatever they want because they have their products to sell not the local one. Also, this will destroy small market businesses and unfortunately, the owners should leave that city. For example, when Walmart appears in small cities, local people will get shocked, because Walmart has better deals and benefits for their customers instead of local shops, as a result, owners of small businesses will leave that city and people who live there can not find their local products anymore. However, the solution for the first problem is simple, as the company select the manager of that new branch from that city, he can add some local food and products to the store so that people can have both their local products and the normal one. In addition, for the other problem, government and leaders of those small cities can help local businesses and small supermarkets to stay alive and compete with huge supermarkets which helps that city people to get interested to have their shops. For instance, the government can take fewer taxes and electricity bills from small shops which helps them not worry about such things. To conclude, international and big markets can not have local products if their manager does not be aware of those local products and for small shops is impossible to stay against huge companies which they have to close and leave but, if the manager of those shops were from that city, he can have a local product in the store and government with only small financial support can keep the small businesses alive.