Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that high schools should celebrate overtime activities which are related to unpaid community service for students. Personally, I agree that taking part in programs involved in social services is really essential as it can provide them with several valuable skills as well as stress relief after tiring hours of studying. It is necessary for high schoolers to be equipped with life skills and by doing voluntary work, they can learn how to help other people in life, deal with unexpected dilemmas and work in a team. For instance, in my countryside, teaching English to younger children means giving them the opportunity to have access to a new language. However, Nowadays, youngsters aged 15-18 years don't have many after-school activities. They just focus on studying in high school and immerse themselves in social networks or online games at home. Giving them compulsory social services like working as a volunteer or giving help to the neighbourhood can reduce stress and anxiety for students. In fact, a number of schools in the world force high schoolers to not only get an education almost every day of the week but finish up to around 12 subjects per semester, which make them fall down and get bored. If they can be encouraged to participate in other activities after hard studying time, they will have a chance to communicate with lots of interesting people and be given the positive energy to overcome the pressure of difficult tests or bad marks. In conclusion, I think attending community schemes is a good idea to help high school students improve their soft skills and feel comfortable after hours of tired school. I hope these programmes can be promoted widely in many schools.