Some people think foreign tourists should be charged more than locals when they visit tourist attractions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past years, tourism has never ceased to provoke heated controversy. Many hold a belief that foreign itinerants should pay more than local people to visit landmarks; however, I totally disagree with that idea for the following reasons. Firstly, it is imperative to acknowledge the fact that the disparity between the fees paid by foreigners and locals can be detrimental to national tourism. Specifically, it causes discrimination and makes foreigners feel that they are not welcome, thereby forming a sentiment against the visited country and probably causing boycotts. The prime example is Vietnam, which receives a plethora of criticism for unseasonably high prices aimed at foreign travellers, resulting in prejudice and downward trends in the annual influx of visitors to Vietnam. Hence, the effects of inequality in the prices of sightseeing tickets can be adverse in emotional and diplomatic terms. Another point that should be taken into consideration is the visitors' home nation. In fact, travellers from third-world nations usually do not have a decent financial capacity and may find it unfair to be more heavily charged than indigenous people of a developed country who are likely to be richer, thus preventing them from visiting that country. For instance, if Vietnamese itinerants visiting Canada were forced to spend more than the wealthy local residents on the same tourist attractions, it would be impossible for them to enjoy their journey and, as a result, Canada may no longer be a favourite destination for the Vietnamese, meaning its tourism may unnecessarily lose a source of revenue from Vietnam, which is of no benefit. Therefore, it would not be an exaggeration to assert that high prices imposed on foreigners are likely to cause ramifications in economic terms. In conclusion, I am convinced that tourists, regardless of their origins, should be equally treated and under no circumstances should higher costs be imposed on international travellers rather than native visitors for the aforementioned reasons.