Some people believe that homework should not be given to school children. Others, however, say that homework is an important requirement for children to be able to develop appropriately.

Some advocates suppose that homework is unnecessary to be assigned to students. In contrast, the opposite opinion is that homework is a compulsory requirement for children to get the appropriate development. In my perspective, I strongly agree with the second opinion because homework assists much in children's growth. The foremost reason why some parents do not want their children to do homework is that it takes too much time. Particularly, homework needs investing time to finish, which causes a lack of time for children to play. Furthermore, doing homework with a large amount causes pressure on children. They must finish homework before the school day if not they would be punished by teachers. It gradually results in the fear of studying or the opposing attitude to schools. However, I support that homework should be required to do by children because this is the best way for revision. Obviously, the quantities of knowledge and exercises studied in class are taught once, so they are quickly forgotten after the courses if there is no practice after that. Consequently, homework gives students opportunities to remember the lessons. Moreover, doing homework creates discipline for students. Precisely, completing homework requires children to arrange time reasonably to spend enough time on assignments. It gradually forms a character that is not only disciplined but also independent of time arrangement. Take Vietnamese students as an example, who get an enormous amount of homework on the regular basis, but due to the frequent practice, they have few difficulties in examinations. In conclusion, although many people are opposing the giving of assignments, I strongly approve of the opinion that the requirement for homework is significant for the development of children.