The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Given the fact that moving around the world is getting more frequent nowadays due to the development of tourism, it is undeniable that many citizens assume the possibility of language homogenity. As a result, English, as a renowned and the most regularly-used language, is dubbed to be the one -standing language. This essay will suggest that shattering the communaction barrier and endorsing human equality will be the main benefits of one language, while the fading of vernacular and nationalism are likely to be its collateral damage. On the one hand, different language is always perceived to be the main barrier to communication between two persons of different nationalities. By having same means to communicate, this obstacle is going to be annihilated, and people around the world will have found an easy way to understand each other. Furthermore, this will probably eliminate the assumption of “superior and mediocre” stratification, which is distinguished by the language people speak. This will perhaps promote equality among earth’s inhabitants due to their similarities in the language used. On the other hand, having only one language will obviously ravange revenge the existence of diversty and local wisdom of some coutries. The existence of numerous vernaculars which is regarded as cultural richness will likely come to extinction, and nothing can be considered local wisdom anymore. In additon, losing national identity will be undeniable if there is no particular language in certain country. For instance, we cannot identify which people are British and which community is Indonesian since they both speak one language fluently. To conclude, using one -globally spoken language is arguably adventagous for avoiding misunderstanding between comunicants even when they come from different regions, but at the same time, losing self-identity is an obvious menace.