Many people think cheap air travel should be encouraged because it gives ordinary people the freedom to travel further. However, others think this leads to environmental problems, so air travel should be more expensive in order to discourage people from having it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the ever-advancing development in the aviation industry, higher availability of air travel has lowered the price of air tickets. Whether or not a cut in price is necessary has sparked off a heated debate, as some convey that cheap air tickets provide the majority with the opportunity to explore the world, while others question the surge in this means of commute would give rise to a plethora of environmental issues and thus support a rise in price. Given the pros and cons, I agree that travelling by air should be affordable, and I will examine the benefits of travelling for personal development and the adverse effect it brings to the environment. In terms of the positive consequences of having cheap flight tickets, it supports well-rounded personal growth and self-discovery via long-haul travel. Having been exposed to the other side of the world, travellers are immersed in a different style of living. Throughout their journey, not only can they improve a wide range of personal traits, such as interpersonal and problem-solving skills, but also experience and reap the positive aspects of others' cultures. For example, western foreigners are often amazed by the idea of Confucianism which greatly emphasizes respect and self-reflection. Therefore, being able to travel with more affordable tickets widens one's horizon and alleviates his or her connotation. Despite the fact that cheap flying is beneficial to people from different walks of life, there are some devastating downsides brought by the rise of aeroplane use. Transportation of all modes has been said to be one of the culprits of global warming. In fact, transporting by flights contributes to significant exhaust gas production which hampers nature by adding to the burden of climate change. Besides, more alarming problems are also caused, for instance, acid rain and depletion of fossil fuels. Consequently, it is reasonable that some activists might want to discourage people from taking planes by increasing the fee in order to save the world. Having discussed the advantages and disadvantages of inexpensive boarding passes, I am inclined to the idea of offering cheaper tickets as it allows more people to explore the hidden gems around the globe and thus narrows the gap between the affluent and the underprivileged. Still, we cannot ignore the fact that it harms the environment in an array of ways. It is believed that as long as the government and entrepreneurs start to develop reusable energy and establish environmental-saving policies while the general public adopts more environmentally friendly daily habits, our future generations can still enjoy travelling and the beauty of nature.