It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extend do you agree or disagree? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

There are many different methods of raising children all over the world, depending on parents’ believes and cultures. But the major argument is about punishing children to teach them how to distinguish between right and wrong. most people believe children should not be punished, but others think chastening is a good method to help them recognize the true path. Everything children do, is a reflection of what their parents did before. So, most of mistakes in their behavior is because of what they saw. Many psychologists conceive that instead of punishing kids, adults should correct their bad habits. In other words, when you do something wrong, your children record that as a good habit, just because they rely on your behavior. Thereby, to avoid children ’s mistreats, parents should improve their behavior instead of punishing kids. In addition, most of what children do is in order to improve their knowledge. They are curious, and willing to venture into new experiences. They have to feel the heat of boiling water, or they will try to touch it again and again, and even punishment cannot make them stop thinking about what they should avoid. Therefore, instead of chastening, adults should talk about wrong paths and choices children may have, and be patient. Although it may put children at stake, they have to pass their childhood and adolescence earning new experiences. In conclusion, punishment is not the best way to raise children. What kids do is all in order to gain experiences and most of them are impressed by what adults do. Parents and teachers should be patient; besides, they should be good models to emulate.