Many people feel it is a waste of money to try to save endangered animal species, for example the tiger or the blue whale. To what extant do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, a certain section of people contends that it is a misspending by protecting endangered species such as tigers, whales and so on. In my,opinion I opt to differ. First of foremost, I believe that it is the responsibility of the local authorities that require to protect these species, evidence in this matter of protecting our forests without cutting down the trees for other resources, which leads to polluting the environment, falling off branches on top of the animals, and implement traps to kills these animals in other terms deforestations. This situation also continues in the ocean,,, unfortunately the authorities build underwater museums to attract tourists, where they spend unnecessarily killing these underwater species. In another situation where oil leakage ships entered the harbour which killed many animals in the ocean,,, however the government did not take any responsibility in this regard. Secondly, the rationale in this context is that it is the responsibility of the government to handle these as the public is highly taxed on daily commodities, therefore the government should enable ways to protect the environment rather than destroying and additionally ways to maintain infrastructure. Sri Lanka is considered a third -world country, and saving these species will allow us to increase the tourism industry, there are ways where these councils can increase revenue rather than pollute the environment. In conclusion, as far as I am concerned protecting the environment and animals is the duty of the government,,, however it is the responsibility of the citizens of the country to raise their voices in such a situation.