As countries have developed, there has been a trend towards smaller family sizes nowadays. Why does this happen? How does this affect society?

Many countries around the world are becoming richer as they develop and thus see a reduction in the size of the family unit. The following paragraphs will illustrate the reasons for the trend and examine some of the possible effects it will have on society. The principal reason is economic growth. As the community become wealthier, the cost of living is getting more expensive and the expenses of raising kids are higher, which leads to many small-size families. For example, according to a recent survey done by the local government in Taiwan, young couples prefer to have only one child or even plan not to have one due to the fact that salary does not grow in proportion to the cost of living. Another important factor is the rise in the levels of education that occur as a country develops, which means that women are more educated and more likely to be working. Consequently, many will prefer to delay having kids and so will likely have fewer in the long term. The trend can have an impact on societies in various ways. To begin with, in a positive way, the parents can focus on a specific child in a smaller-size family, taking extremely good care of him and educating him properly, which will reduce the proportion of bad teenagers and benefit society as a whole. Another benefit is that there will be less competition for scarce resources due to the decrease in population, and therefore reduce the poverty. However, since the young workforce would become fewer, the productivity of the countries may get lower accordingly. As a result, economic growth will be uncertain and concerning. Furthermore, as the family sizes are not big as they used to be, there are fewer family members who can take care of each other, which can cause a burden on our communities as well. For instance, if an elderly falls sick and has no one to rely on, the government has to use social resources to look after him. In conclusion, family size has fallen because of economic growth and education, and the phenomenon can have both positive and negative impacts on society. Regardless of any impacts, this trend is likely to continue as countries around the world develop and become wealthier.