Some people believe that social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, have a negative impact on young people and their ability to form personal relationships. Others believe that these sites bring people together in a beneficial way.

Some people think that social media outlets are harmful and a much more impersonal way to connect with others creating relationships. However, others argue quite the opposite, saying that these cyberspaces do indeed bring individuals closer together, allowing them to talk to people they would never have met before. From my point of view, the positive impact outshines the negative, as I will explain. In the first place, it is important to have in our minds what a meaningful relationship is like. To have such an exchange with a person means being understood, feeling seen for who you are no matter what and being able to talk and express yourself. A relationship built on the media platforms is not less important or meaningful than the ones built in the real face-to-face world, all those important constituents can also be found while accessing the outlets. In addition, the way those platforms have grown in the past years has allowed reconnection between individuals from all around the world, facilitating distant friendships through texts and video chats. Nevertheless, as promising as the advantages of creating connections online may seem, many believe that these platforms are dangerous and limit people from going out into real life. For example, young adults repeatedly write harmful commentary on unknown profiles due to easy access and non-facial interaction. Furthermore, social media outlets allow humans to deceive, lie and bully others simply because hiding behind a glass screen feels secure. In conclusion, social networking sites sometimes take people away from the outside world, and can in multiple ways harm young individuals. Overall, it creates a beautiful and meaningful way to develop broader and lifelong relationships, the important lesson is to use it wisely.