Many people think that TV has a positive impact on children’s creativity skills, while others believe that watching TV is damaging creative skills. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Television has become a basic necessity of life. Although it is believed by some that television enhances children's creativity, watching television also has damaging effects on one's thinking capacity. This essay will discuss both views and assert my opinion. To begin with, children gain a lot of information by watching scientific programmes which are relayed on television. Furthermore, they are exposed to news from all over the world. This particularly helps to increase their general knowledge and creativity while sitting within the four walls of their home. For instance, my nephew speaks Spanish fluently just by having watched cartoons. In addition, various documentaries pertaining to history, literature and engineering being shown on television increases their imagination power. Thus, it is a useful means for children to widen their thinking ability. On the other hand, television is also called an idiot's box. Parents often complain that instead of playing outside during their free time, children prefer to sit in front of the television. Furthermore, they are addicted to meaningless cartoons and shows which are unreal. As a result, students nowadays lack the physical stamina and mental reasoning that their parents had. A particular study has shown that children who had minimal screen time had better- thought processes and creativity as compared to others who had more screen time. Hence, television hampers the mental ability of a growing mind. In conclusion, it can be said that television is a necessary evil. Proper parenteral monitoring and rationing of screen time can help to use it for one's benefit.