Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the development of today's education, social activities are considered a crucial role in educating the young generation. Some think that high schools should set unpaid community service as a consistent part of their study programme. I agree with the statement that social activities, such as working for a charity or improving the neighbourhood should become a compulsory part of schools ' curriculum. The essay will analyse how it helps the student learn social skills and how their personality will be valued from life lessons by taking part in doing community services to support this thesis. Firstly, having a constant lesson like joining helping society activities will contribute to the creation and development of learners' social skills. For example, high schools in Vietnam only focus on academic subjects, such as maths or literature, for the exam purpose and ignore the need for other skills like problem-solving or even taking care, which leads to the situation that students do not have any clues how to interact with the external world. By approving unpaid community service as a compulsory part of the studying programme, high schoolers will know how to treat properly unfortunate people as well as adjust to those around them, and help them to learn how to deal with issues happening in their daily lives. Thus, it is necessary for schools to list community work as a constant part of their syllabus. Secondly, activities for serving society bring opportunities to learners to practice their social knowledge in reality. For instance, when I was in high school, I enrolled in school's voluntary projects to teach literature to ethnical communities' children and to help people in remote areas to construct concrete roads. This not only provides students like me a chance to apply knowledge learning in school time into real life but also values me with life lessons through witnessing and assessing different people's circumstances. It is clear that these will create opportunities for high schoolers to gain real knowledge which cannot be learnt in lectures. Therefore, considering unpaid community service as a constant part of high school's curriculum is undeniable. In conclusion, working for a charity or teaching young children without being paid will help students to improve their social skills and enhance their knowledge by applying it in the reality. Thus, I strongly believe that this kind of activity should be a compulsory part of high school programmes.