Some People Say That It Is Possible To Tell A Lot About A Person’s Culture And Character From Their Choice Of Clothing

A few individuals opine that we can get to know a lot about someone’s culture and character on the basis of their attire. I agree with the view / opinion / argument that clothes can tell basic information about a person but other details like personality and customs cannot be judged based on their selection of clothing / garments. Firstly, by observing the fabric and style we can come to an initial conclusion that the person is from a certain cultural background. For instance, we can easily identify some of the Muslim ladies if they are wearing a “Burkha” which is a long dress that covers their entire body. However, people nowadays wear mostly t-shirt or jeans or business wear which makes it difficult to identify the cultural origin of a person. Modern way of dressing has made it difficult to identify the cultural background of a person. Secondly, judging a person ’s character on the basis of their clothing is quiet misleading. Nowadays, people are more into fashion making it difficult to judge if one is good or bad as fashion is a deceiving weapon nowadays. For example, a man who wears a tidy and ironed attire might be a thief who is impersonating himself as a gentleman to fool people around. On the other hand, a person like Mahatma Gandhi used to wear a simple dhoti even though he was a well-educated lawyer. To sum up, I would say that we can find certain things about an individual from the way they dress but we cannot judge their culture and character based on their choice to dress.