Violence in playgrounds is increasing. However, it is important that parents should teach children not to hit back at bullies.

Unfortunately, in modern societies, violence is rising and playgrounds bullying seems to be growing too. People’s opinions differ, as to whether parents should teach their siblings not to hit back at bullies or they should teach them to be able to defend themselves. While there are some strong arguments in favor of hitting back, I still believe that violence only breeds further violence. However, there are some examples when violence was stopped as a result of victims hitting back or their elder brothers protecting them by threatening or beating up the offender. It shows that in some cases violence helps to handle bullying. For the last decades many researches have been made and proved that children who grow up in violent families often grow up to be violent themselves. In addition, some children may enjoy the power associated with violence and develop into bullies. So, it goes without saying that parents should promote anti-violent behaviour. Furthermore, different organization should attend schools and speak with pupil, explaining the way of handling different problems. Evidencing that schools should have various psychological sessions acting different kind of conflicts and showing that all conflicts can be resolved through discussion and compromise rather than force. In my view this will have a great positive impact on growing people and I am absolutely sure that when they are adults they will behave similarly and try to avoid violence. In conclusion, despite there are some examples of violence being and effective weapon against bullies, I strongly believe that teaching non-violent strategies is way more productive in the long term. And I think that governments should introduce inti-violent education, in forms of discussions clubs etc, into schools.