Hosting sporting events such as the Olympics and the World Cup can bring benefits to the host countries. How far do you agree with this statement? Use your own examples to support.

Major sporting events such as the Olympics and the World Cup are watched by billions across the world, raking in billions of dollars in profit. Moreover, they are international competitions that every nation aims to participate in and win, as victory can be tremendously beneficial towards their national identity, netting them fame worldwide. Being the host nation of an international competition such as the Olympics or the World Cup can already contribute massively towards its international standing, as it is a lucrative asset towards growing the nation's economy, identity, and tourism numbers. With all of these benefits, many nations tend to compete against each other in bidding wars and campaigns to secure their position as the next nation to host an international sporting event. To begin with, hosting an international competition with the prestige of the Olympics or the World Cup can be the cause of a major boost towards a nation's economy. During the 2022 World Cup, Qatar had a massive influx of World Cup tourism in spite of the COVID-19 pandemic, which was a net positive towards their already growing economy. Qatar spent billions of dollars building new stadiums before the World Cup, as the nation wanted to show that they are ready to give its spectators the best experience possible. Therefore, many nations that host international competitions aim to replicate the same amount of success that Qatar achieved, as they want to give their tourists a great viewing experience while achieving a net positive on their economic growth. Additionally, the aforementioned influx of tourism is a major factor in which nations aim to become the host nation of an international competition. The 2022 World Cup saw stadiums that could support hundreds of thousands of people in capacity consistently reach their limit, showing how much an international competition can benefit the tourism industry of a nation. Even for a developed nation, a surge in tourism can increase commercial activity and generate significant amounts of revenue in foreign exchange. As a consequence, due to the popularity of an international competition, there will always be an influx of tourists throughout the duration of the event. In conclusion, becoming the host nation of an international competition will always be beneficial towards its economy, tourism industry, and standing within the global community. The tourist and commercial activity that it causes is unparalleled compared to any other situation, which is why becoming a host nation is extremely lucrative. With the 2026 World Cup on the horizon, the international community will again view how beneficial an international competition of its size can be towards its host nation.