It is nowadays seen that many students are part-time employed. Discuss advantages and disadvantages

In today's contemporary world, an increasing number of students are working in part-time roles while studying. This has led to both merits and demerits which I will be discussing in the forthcoming paragraphs. Firstly, when students work part-time they can support themselves financially. This earned money can be used to pay their university fee and other living expenses. Furthermore, if students save judiciously, they may save for other future investments as well. It also teaches them the value of money and productive hard work in life. For instance, when I was at university, I worked a casual job which helped me save for my course fee and daily expenses, and the most important thing of not wasting money on unnecessary things. Moreover, having a part-time job during college days helps pupils gain on-the-job practical experience. They get practical exposure to the industry and get an opportunity to imply their skills and knowledge in the workplace. Consequently, they learn from successes and mistakes which polishes their skills; hence, gaining an upper edge in the competitive employment market. For example, at my current job, I learned mostly by committing mistakes than theoretical knowledge. There are, however, some disadvantages that can easily overwhelm the potential benefits of working and studying at the same time. The primary one is students may not have enough time to focus on their education; thus scoring low during exams. Therefore, when their performance is poor, no good employer will offer them jobs. As a result, they might do odd jobs for their survival. For example, because of excess work, I struggled to pay attention to the key subjects during exams, so my marks for those subjects were poor. In conclusion, having put forth substantial arguments, the benefits of having part-time employment while undertaking a university education are indeed too great to ignore as it offers students to earn an extra living and gain real-world work knowledge.