Success in formal "pen and paper" examinations is often seen to be a sign of intelligence. To what extent do you agree with the view that formal examinations measure intelligence? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The validity of the "pen and paper" examination was always a debatable issue and with the shift of emphasis towards practical knowledge, it has become a controversial topic. Masses consider that scoring well in written exams depicts an individual's intelligence level. I disagree with the above-mentioned notion because just cramming the theories is a sign of good retention power and not brilliance. Moreover, it will not help an individual to survive in the real world, not limited to the job market. These days mostly institutes are conducting aptitude tests to determine a student's IQ Level. These tests focus only on theory and hardly include any practical scenarios or case studies. Similarly, in numerous educational institutes, be it a school or a B-School, the complete focus is on designing the curriculum with maximum weightage to the written exams. They hardly put effort to have hands-on projects which can help a student in understanding the practical viability of the theories learnt so far. As a result of that the pupils just cram the books and lessons covered in the class, write the exam and pass. Eventually, the one who can cram the best is awarded the first rank and considered the most intelligent person in the batch. But such students are unable to cope with the actual job market. In the the current scenario, most of the companies are considering marks just as an eligibility criterion and nothing else. They are highly concentrating on the practical skills and vocational training that an individual has been through. The interviewers are preferring a candidate with relevant practical experience than just good marks because as per corporates, an intelligent person is the one who can survive and generate profit in the business world, and this is altogether impossible without practical knowledge. For instance, many known businessmen have never been to B-School and with their intellect, they are ruling the business world. Among them is Mukesh Ambani who is the richest person in Asia. To recapitulate, I believe that colleges and schools should focus on practical knowledge and replace "pen and paper" examinations with "Hands-on" examinations. They should include vocational training in the academic curriculum as most of the firms are demanding more technical experts than an individual with the highest score because as per them, the definition of intelligence is altogether different.