A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety Therefore, some people think that government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. To what extent you agree?

Citizens' safety and welfare all rely on the government's policies. At the same time, some propose that administrators invest more money in national defences to protect civilians and decrease spending on citizens' welfare. But, in my opinion, I believe the funds that are invested in military forces and social benefits so be equalized. Admittedly, spending more money to handle national safety problems could help combat terrorists and earn respect from neighbouring countries. In modern society, terrorism is the biggest threat to most countries. For instance, Iran and its people have been suffering from terrorist attacks and bombings for years. But their funds for soldiers and weapons are far behind other big countries, such as America or China, which give a reason for the terrorists to attack Iran without fear. Because their firearms and equipment can compete with Iran's solider, on the other hand, countries like North Korea have invested numerous capital in nuking weapons, thus gaining authority from the world. Which makes nations afraid to make moves on North Korea or try to partner with them. Despite these arguments, I still believe not all money should be devoted to national security, and half of the funds should be divided into medical and education. Since part of public finance are citizens' taxes, they have the right to experience the full benefit of educational and medical systems. To illustrate, the Hong Kong government has imposed a policy for local students to have a 12-years-guarantee of free education. With the complete welfare of academic and medical care, it will be attribution and consideration for immigrants to immigrate, encouraging more immigrants to contribute to the countries and enhance economic growth. To conclude, the governments should equally distribute capital on national safety problems and social benefits to provide safety and aid to the residents.