Many student choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A part of many students opt to pause for a year before starting university, it is either for travel purposes or gaining experience that is work-related. This essay will discuss the benefits of the idea of taking a gap year in the subsequent paragraphs. Nowadays, students from around the world choose to stop for the meantime before entering universities to travel. It gives them a sense of refreshment and provides them to lessen their stress, and anxiety before entering a bigger world. For the younger generation travelling is one way of reducing the stress that is usually a result of an unfamiliar environment. For instance, albeit I did not take a gap year but during the summer break my mother has given me a chance to live on my own near where the university so that I would be able to adapt to the environment and also mingle with other people that I would be able to have an idea how it feels like. It is also a way of diversity knowing different cultures that could help them before enrolling on universities. While others are stopping for a year or two to gain work experience, it is because not everybody is born with a silver spoon, capable of sustaining the needs of a student. That is why some turned to work so that they will be able to save money and also gain knowledge and experiences that they can use eventually in the future endeavour that they have especially related to the course that was chosen. Some of my friends are working students, currently working while studying, to be able to provide for their needs. In conclusion student chooses to take a gap year for whatever purpose it has. I surmise that it is beneficial not only physically but also the most important emotional aspect of an individual. And a good idea to impose on every student.