Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that we should make the prices of sugary products higher as a means of pushing people to intake less sugar, considering how more and more processed products consist of vast amounts of sugar which leads to multiple health problems. Personally, I completely disagree with this view, and would argue that it is neither right nor practical to try to raise the prices of sugary products. On the one hand, it is undeniable that highly processed food and drink products can be a threat to modern citizens' health conditions. " Sugar is the new poison", as many would say. In order to improve the taste of these products, manufacturers often choose to add an unhealthily high level of sugar, which can cause mild addiction by spiking dopamine release in human brains according to multiple researches across the world. This method is so widespread that sugar can even be found in the least expected things, such as daily seasonings like vinegar and soy sauce. As a result, people today are consuming an excessive dosage of sugar that human bodies are simply not designed to cope with. After all, mass production of sugar only started several centuries ago, yet it took tens of thousands of years for our ancestors to develop the rewarding mechanism that we have in our brains today, which both helped our species survive in the Stone Age and is slowly killing many of us today. With all that being said, I would argue that trying to raise the price of sugary products would be an effort in vain, which may even cause more serious consequences for society. First of all, sugary food and drink products are fast-moving consumer products, often consumed rapidly and priced low, which means that consumer perception of their price changes can be low. This is to say, most consumers are not likely to stop buying such products simply because the price has increased by 5 cents. For families with poorer financial conditions, the price changes might seem more obvious. However, while they can reduce the consumption of snacks, they cannot avoid buying daily products such as the sweetened seasoners mentioned above. Thus, the living cost of people will rise, and this may lead to serious problems for society. In conclusion, I believe that we have no reason to try to intervene with the price of sugary products