Nowadays, a large amount of advertising is aimed at children. Some people think it is negative for children and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising is one of the major concerns in modern society. Whether it can be designed mainly for kids is a contraversial issue. While advertisments can offer students some benefits, my view is that the cons overweight the pros. It is clear that advertisements which aimed at children are rather interesting so that they can easily attract kids’ attention. This means that students may be easily addicted to these commercials and pay less attention to their studies. So, in order to reduce the negative influence to kids’ study, the advertisements should not be created for pupils. Moreover, since the advertising aimed to inspire the expenditure desire of individuals, it may be harmful to pupils’ mental health. For example, the cartoon shows always have lots of toy ads which are really attractive and can easily inspire kids’ “taste”. In this case, If their parents refuse to buy the toys, they may feel upset and depressed. Nevertheless, thoes who harbour the view that children can receive advertisements believe that it can improve the economic condition of society. There are, of course, some kids would ask their parents to purchase the toys, and may benefit the local econic in a limited way. But it may put more financial burdens to the poor families. In conclusion, as far as study, mental health and economic are concerned, I strongly hold that advertisements can not aim at pupils. Of course, we should not ignore the important role advertising are undertaking in some cases.