One way to solve problem of congestion in cities is to build sky trains which run overhead rather than on or under the ground. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using this solution to solve congestion?

Providing sky trains has been a solution to the problem of traffic jams instead of using the on-land or underground ones. This essay will explain the pros and cons of the idea to solve the issue. On the one hand, the main problems of the idea are the highness of expenditure for the construction of the transportation mode and the expensiveness of the budget for daily operation. Firstly, it is evident that developers will install more materials when they build the overhead rails; thus, project expenditure for them will require more money than that for classic ones. For example, the Indonesian government allocated 4 billion Rupiah for constructing overhead rails, while they only spent 2 billion Rupiah on the traditional lines of the same length. Secondly, providers of the transportation mode will spend lots of money to operate the vehicles for the day-by-day trip. As a result of this, the price of the ticket will be much more expensive. On the other hand, there are at least two advantages of sky trains, namely the effectiveness of reducing congestion and the quickness of the manufacturing process. Moreover, the first benefit of it is solving the issue of traffic efficiently because this transportation mode is the most effective way to reduce congestion in a crowded city without stopping any vehicles when it runs. Additionally, the second positive effect of it is that constructors do not need lots of time to create the overhead tracks compared to the underground rails. For example, if they will build underground ones, they will need to dig deep into the earth first to provide the ways. However, the overhead tracks only need to install some materials. In conclusion, sky trains obviously have pros and cons to implement as a solution to the traffic jam problem.