Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jams'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

In the last decades, the number of people owning a private car increased remarkably, resulting in traffic congestion in many cities worldwide. In this essay, I will highlight this is a real problem in our lives and suggest some measures that the government could offer to car users to tackle this issue. Many metropolitan cities suffer from traffic jams particularly during certain hours of the day because people prefer to commute using their own car instead of public transportation. In other words, having a car is more convenient since it gives more independency to the person, so he won't have to abide by the bus or the tram timetable, not only that but driving a car is safer and provide privacy to the driver. For example, a car owner won't have to deal with people invading his personal space because of crowded buses. Hence, many main streets in vibrant cities have bottle-neck roads during "rush hours" in the mornings or evenings since most commuters have similar schedules. Fortunately, however, there are two promising solutions that local governments could implement to discourage the use of vehicles. First of all, improving the service quality of public transportation. This could be by increasing the number of buses or trams to avoid overcrowding in such places or by offering new incentives for public transportation riders. For instance, those who use the bus regularly could benefit from a gift card or a free trip by train. Secondly, the government should enhance the underground railway system that is known to be punctual. As a result, it will draw the attention of car drivers that are either late to their work because they are stuck in traffic jams or leave to work at early hours to avoid it. In conclusion, in the past three decades, car ownership knew an upward trend leading to traffic congestion in many cities. This could be seen mainly in megacities since citizens there prefer to ride their own vehicles as they give them independence and privacy. I recommend that governments rise the number of public transport and improve their services, along with enhancing or creating underground subway systems to captivate people's attention and cut down the traffic jams.