In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

They say that “ work hard to get a good result”, but does hard work always achieve it? There are some countries that tend to teach children provided that they strive for their goals, no matter what, they will accomplish them. In my opinion, this message can motivate children, as no hurdles prevent them from their dreams. However, it must be taken into consideration that hard work is not always the key to every achievement. On the one hand, teaching children that striving guarantees their success has inevitable advantages. Not only does it result in motivation, but also it will inspire them to overcome hardships and not to give their purposes up easily. Children, therefore, will pursue their goals that once were deemed to need innate talents. For example, when learning a second language, which is a time-consuming process, children need to know that working diligently, not only talent, is conducive to enhancing proficiency. Consequently, they will later become adults who have been improving their resilience from childhood. On the other hand, the most noticeable disadvantage of this notion is that it is able to make children disappointed when they spend so much time and effort on something they desire and do not get the result they expect; mostly, in tasks that hard work plays little role. A good example of this is a child wanting to become a popular singer without considering his or her lack of musical talent. As a result, after wasting time on voice training and not achieving a good outcome, that child, eventually, will get frustrated and depressed from all the work he or she has done. In conclusion, telling children that hard work leads them to success is a great motivation through hard moments. Nevertheless, it should not be neglected that not all dreams and aims will be achieved by hard work; Moreover, by ignoring that, such training may produce undesirable fallouts.