Hosting sporting events such as the Olympics and the World Cup can bring benefits to the host countries. How far do you agree with this statement? Use your own examples to support.

In today's contemporary era, many countries believe that organising sports events like the Olympics and the World cup have many advantages. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this statement and in the paragraphs to follow, I shall put forth my point of view. Firstly, hosting global sports tournaments helps the local economy with healthy monetary contributions. When people from around the world visit the host nation, they spend money on various things; thus boosting foreign exchange. Moreover, when such events occur, they boost the local job market as they create several employment opportunities for residents of the country. Consequently, when locals pay more tax on the income earned, the government allocates a big budget for the development of local roads, buildings, stadiums, and other infrastructure. For example, with the cricket world cup happening in Australia this year, many new sports facilities and accommodations have been built. Furthermore, when a country organises such an elite occasion, its popularity increases dramatically in the world. Therefore, many international tourists will visit the host country; hence making it a popular tourist spot. This helps many international visitors to learn about that country, which aids in making that country more attractive to visit. For instance, after watching the cricket world cup on tv in Newzealand in 2015, my family planned a trip to New Zealand to explore its beautiful attractions. In conclusion, the benefits of hosting great sports tournaments like the World cup and the Olympics are indeed too great to ignore, as it brings many merits to the local country and its economy.