Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that high schools should celebrate unpaid community service that students take part in. Personally, I agree that students’ participation is really essential as it can provide them with several valuable experiences as well as stress relief after tiring hours of studying. It is necessary for high schoolers to be equipped with life skills by doing voluntary work, as they can learn problem-solving and team collaboration. Moreover, working with poverty and the homeless will add more value to academic programmes, and more variety to their subjects. This will be a good way of introducing skilled and smart individuals to the community. For instance, in my countryside, youngsters often teach English to poor children, which improves their communication ability. However, nowadays, youngsters are deprived of after-school activities as they spend most of their time studying and staying at home. In my opinion, Giving them compulsory social services like working as a volunteer or giving help to the neighbourhood can reduce stress and anxiety for students. In fact, boring subjects and lengthy studying hours make them feel stressed and burnout. If they can be encouraged to participate in other activities after stressful hours, they can have a chance to communicate with lots of people and be given the positive energy to overcome school pressure. In conclusion, I think attending community schemes is a good idea to help high schoolers improve their soft skills and alleviate stress. Hence, I hope these programs can be promoted widely in many schools.