More and more people want to own items such as car, clothing and other things, that are made by famous brand. What are the reasons for this? Do you think is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, most communities have an insatiable desire to possess state-of-the-art materials produced by high-profile companies. Such an attitude is mainly due to a variety of choices individuals may encounter and excessive advertisements across the globe. However, I wholeheartedly believe it is a negative development since it can pose a threat to environmental resources. There are several reasons contributing to consumerism. First and foremost, the technological revolution provides folk with a wide variety of options. That is to say, having online access to a huge number of branded products, crowds are being enticed to buy such cutting-edge commodities not because they need those, but because they want to pander to their every whim. Furthermore, advertising can play an essential role in increased conspicuous consumption. It has been psychologically proven that families are subconsciously drawn to products publicised on television or social networking sites even if they do not need to have one. Consequently, materialism is spreading through the world through these methods. Nevertheless, I believe purchasing these materials excessively can exert severe pressure on our finite resources. This is because the more items one person utilizes, the more raw materials should be extracted. For instance, the well-known car factory Toyota is claimed to consume a tremendous amount of oil by-products to create their vehicles. Likewise, such factories create a different kind of pollution, leading to much more burden on the environment. Therefore, it is clear that producing and consuming these items eventually culminate in ecological degradation. In conclusion, although both technology and advertisements help the nation to enjoy having the latest products, it seems to me that such a pleasure would come at a high price for nature and ultimately humankind.