Some people believe that technology has made man more social and others think it has made him less social. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

There has been a controversy about whether technology can help us to become more sociable. Some people believe that technology has made man more social; others have the opposite opinions. I think technology can help to expand your social circle, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, people are easily reachable because of technology. Due to technological development, social media has become closely linked to our daily life; therefore, if a sender tries to contact a person, the receiver can be informed immediately. Hence, on account of the convenience of technology, people can stay in contact all the time; and they can text each other to forge their relationships. On the contrary, our forefathers didn't have the advanced technology which we have today; thus, everyone's social circle was relatively small because of the poor technology. Second, the internet provides opportunities to make new friends. It's expected that one of the most significant examples of technological development is the advent of the internet. Thanks to the internet, people can make friends through hundreds and thousands of different social apps. Take me as an example. I met my girlfriend on a social app, which is popular among the younger generation. Besides, there are always people who have the same interests as you; therefore, it can be said that technology provides a platform for our social networks. On the other hand, some people think technology will make them less sociable. For instance, it can dampen users' confidence. It's commonplace that people only see wonderful things online, such as nice body figures and luxurious goods, although they can be deceptive, they still exert a negative impact on users' minds. As a result, such a situation can weaken users' self-esteem to a large extent. In conclusion, I believe technology can help people to become more sociable.