An increasing number of children are overweight which could result in many problems when they grow older both in terms of their health and healthcare costs. Why do you think so many children are overweight? What could be done to solve this problem?

In today's contemporary world, youngsters have developed many bad eating habits which have resulted in many problems like obesity and other deadly diseases, which creates a burden on governments too. There are numerous causes for this but fortunately, there are some solutions available to combat this problem. The primary cause of children being overweight is bad eating habits. They prefer to eat junk food served by McDonald's and KFC instead of home-cooked nutritious food. Such food has a lot of fat and cholesterol which adds to the weight of the body and exacerbates the condition of the internal body system. Moreover, parents play a significant role in developing their children's health. Nowadays, many parents are either too busy because of hectic schedules or are reckless to cook a fresh nutritious meal at home for their juveniles. Consequently, they rely more on either frozen food or quick meals from junk food chains. For instance, my friend Aaron lives with his mother, who works 6 days a week and because of no time for food preparation, they eat every day from KFC. There are, however, some possible solutions to this problem. Firstly, both guardians and children should organize some time every day to cook their own meals comprising of green vegetables and meat. This will help them supply enough nutrition to their body without gaining weight and other diseases. Secondly, schools can encourage families to supply their children with home-cooked food instead of junk meals. This can be done by organising some seminars where both parents and children can be educated about the merits of healthy food and the demerits of unhealthy food; hence, spreading awareness among society members. For example, last week at my school we organised a session for all the parents about how to prepare a healthy lunch box for their children. In conclusion, there are many reasons for the health-related problem of offspring these days, but applying above mentioned resolutions can bring the situation under control. It is increasingly vital for youngsters to maintain good health to live an active and happy life.