Private car ownership has been increasing over the past few decades. This has given ordinary people greater mobility, but has also led to concerns about traffic congestion and air pollution. Do the advantages of private car ownership outweigh the disadvantages?

With each passing day, the use of public transportation is decreased due to rising in the living standard of humans. Hence, people are using their personal transportation vehicles which influence migration, consequently, there is a surge in traffic problems and more contaminated air. This essay will argue that the drawback of this trend is more as compared than the benefits it will bring. Having own four wheelers has a major advantage is that it is a more comfortable means of transportation. In other words, if the masses have their own vehicle then it would be easy to travel for them whenever or where ever they needed, they do not need to wait for the particular time of public transportation. For example, If a person wants to go to Maharastra from Punjab, then he has to wait for the Punjab Mail express at 10 pm, in contrast, if he has a car then he can go there whenever it is suitable for him. Therefore, it is clear that having a private car is the most comfortable means to travel. However, this trend has certain disadvantages: Firstly, It leads to more air pollution because if everybody would travel by personal vehicle then there will be more cars on the roads and would release more carbon emissions in the air, which will lead to bad air quality index. As an illustration, Delhi has more private vehicles compared to Kerala which results in more air pollution in Delhi. The more private vehicles on roads, the more air pollution would be there. Secondly, traffic congestion is another area of concern. Due to the increase in private car ownership, there is more traffic on outside paths. This is due to the fact that every individual wants their own vehicle to commute to other places such as office, shopping stores and relatives' houses which is directly leading to congestion of vehicles on roads. Moreover, fossil fuels are also depleting which is the only source left behind to produce energy since there is more use of fuels for operating personal wheelers. In conclusion, although personal vehicles are the most comfortable way of transportation, nevertheless, it leads to some negative effects on the environment such as air pollution, traffic congestion and depletion of fossils. Hence, the benefits of this trend do not outweigh its drawbacks.