Some people think governments should spend as much money as possible exploring outer space. Others argue they should spend the money for poor people. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

Nowadays, some individuals consider that the government should spend billions of US dollars on space exploration, while there is also growing debate over whether we should aim to resolve issues like poverty rather than focusing on expensive high technology so-called vanity projects. Although the expense of exploring space is admittedly high, such projects may give us a way to offset those problems like employment issues via job creation and to improve out-of-date agricultural techniques through new experimentation. There are still urgent matters which require immediate steps like looking after the poor. Obviously, we know how dire this phenomenon is, but few attempts have been made to stop its development. China, for instance, is planning a hugely expensive voyage to Mars when a significant portion of its people lives in impoverishment. On a personal level, I believe we could use a large amount of this money to drastically improve the lives of many people’s loved ones. Hence, the justification for exploring the universe does not take into consideration the well-being of those in poverty. Nonetheless, developing space technology has numerous benefits for our civilization. Agriculture, it plays an essential role in our daily lives with a lot of people working in the farming and agri-food industries. By procuring accurate and up-to-date information on soil fertility, precipitation forecasts, and crop conditions; satellites help farmers manage their harvests and maximize their yields more sustainably. Furthermore, these projects can provide opportunities for working in high-tech jobs in many countries. The demand for occupations such as engineers would surge, resulting in the effect of creating many employment opportunities in fields such as electrical engineering, robotics, etc. As a result, there are arguments both for and against the expenditure of poverty-stricken people in need in lieu of expensive space projects, but I am convinced that we should expend as much money as possible on space exploration as all humanity will reap the benefits in the long term.